Site hosted by Build your free website today!

An Overview of The Government of Daistallia 2104


Executive Council:
The Executive Council is the twelve-member council which constitutes the head of the executive branch of the federal government of Daistallia 2104 and serves as the collective head of state.

The President is directly elected by the people for 9 year terms. The president can only serve 2 complete (or partial) terms. The President is charged with presiding over Council meetings and carries out various representative functions that, in other countries, are the business of the Head of State. The President's primary powers deal with external affairs, including security, diplomacy, and trade.

The Chancellor is elected by the Congress of Representatives every four years, but may be subject to a vote of non-confidence at any time by the Senate, requiring replacement. The Chancellor is primarily responsible for domestic policy and affairs.

Council Chair
The Council Chair heads the general staff of the Executive Council. The Chair is selected by the Executive Council, and serves at their pleasure. The Chair is responsible for the day to day operations of the Excutive Council and prepares the reports on policy and activities of the Council to the ligislative bodies. The Chair is also responsible for the publication of all federal laws.

The Ministers head the various executive branches. They are generally appointed by the overseeing executive.

Minister of External and Foreign Affairs (MoEaFA)
MoEaFA is responsible for forming foreign policy. The MoEaFA reports to the president.

Minister of Security and Defense Affairs (MoSaDA)
MoSaDA is responsible for the security of the state against foreign threats. MoSaDA regulates and controls the Daistallia 2104 Defence Forces and intelligence services. The MoSaDA reports to the president.

Minister of International Trade, Economic, Commercial, and Financial Affairs (MoITECaFA)
MoIECaFA is responsible for forming international trade and economic policies. The MoITECaFA reports to the president.

Minister of Internal and Judicial Affairs (MoIaJA)
MoIaJA is responsibility for policing, internal security, public order the justice system, general national elections, and immigration matters.JA The MoIaJA reports to the Chancellor

Minister of Trade, Economic, Commercial, and Financial Affairs (MoTECaFA)
MoTECaFA is responsible for regulating and forming policy regarding financial affairs, the treasury, the economy, taxation and other economic affairs. The MoTECaFA reports to the Chancellor.

Minister of Health, Environment, and Public Safety (MoHEaPS)
MoHEaPS is responsible for matters relating to the natural environment, public health and safety, and consumer protection. reports to the Chancellor.

Minister of Cultural, Educational, Science and Technological Affairs (MoCESaT)
MoCESaTA is responsible for protecting national heritage, promoting cultural expression, and forming and regulating cultural, educational, scientific, and technological policy. The MoESaTA reports to the Council Chair.

Minister of Sophont Rights and Liberties (MoSRaL)
MoSRaL is responsible for enduring the protection of the rights and liberties of the populace, as well as making determinations of sentient, sapient, and sophont status. The MoSRaL reports to the Council Chair.

Ombud Minister and Inspector General (OMaIG)
OMaIG represents the interests of the public, examines the actions of the government and acts as a general auditor. The OMaIG reports to the Council Chair.

Congress of Representatives
The Congress of Representatives is composed of members chosen every three years by the people of each district of each Canton. One third of the members are elected from single member electoral districts of ten million constituants, according to a plurality of their respective numbers. One third of the members are elected from three seat proportional districts of ninety million constituants, using a cumulative voting system. The final third of the members are elected from three seat proportional districts of ninety million constituants, using a proportional party list largest remainder voting system with closed lists. With the current population of 9,990 million, there are 1665 Representatives.
Council of Cantons
The Council of Cantons is composed of 3 members chosen by each Canton, as directed by the constitution of each Canton. With the current number of 93 cantons, there are 279 Councilors.
The Senate is composed of 63 members, elected directly, with 21 year terms. The terms are staggered, so that one seventh of the senate is chosen every three years.

The highest court in the land is the Supreme Court of Arbitration.